Hello world!

Hi.  I’m new to this whole blogging thing but I figure I better jump on the bandwagon and get hip with the times.  So this is me.  My name is Nikki.  I’m a journalist.  I guess I would be considered an aspiring photojournalist, but like my first J-professor said, “You have to remember that you are a professional journalist, act like one.”  Acting like a published journalist is my goal.

But, it’s not like I’m not published.  I was an active member of Southwestern Illinois College student newspaper, The Eye of the Storm, back in 2008-2009. I’m a Senior Staff Photographer and a Staff Reporter for the award-winning student publication at Mizzou The Maneater as we speak (err…blog).  I will admit that my fault lies in my failure to conform to ‘proper journalism style’ such as writing articles based on that pesky inverted pyramid.  Maybe, I’ll change the style of journalism.  Who knows?

My style is a little different.  I write like I talk.  Apparently people enjoy talking with me so I don’t see the big problem with it.  I feel that journalism should be more conversational.  That is another one of my career goals, making journalism more of a conversation than a report.  Because honestly that’s what journalism is all about.  Especially now adays with the social networks surging in popularity and internet sites allowing readers to post comments and reply to each other about articles.  Now maybe I am a little cheesy at times with my cliches and interesting use of out-dated trendy words like hip, and groovy, and out of sight, but I just try to make reading my pieces fun, not just informative.

So yes, technically I am a Journalist, tadaaaaaa!, but right now I also make burritos in my spare time at Chipotle.  I love my dog, Cadence.  I love my boyfriend’s new kitten, Zelda.  And, I think that taking great pictures is not only documentary, but also an art form that I am trying to perfect.

So that’s a little bit about me and my family.  I wanted to begin this blog at first in order to document my search for experience this summer with a photographer.  So far I have had no luck, but next week is the beginning of my new journey.  So join me!

