Selective Sharpening

Today I discovered a great technique that really helped my photos draw a viewer’s eye to a specific point: selective sharpening.

I was perusing Photoshelter’s blog and I came across this tutorial:

5 Simple Things You Can Do to Make Your Web Images Pop

I was really excited to see how photos translate onto a website differently, but what I got is some all around great advice about drawing a viewer’s eye to important parts of your photograph. I was really intrigued about this selective editing technique. Usually, I just use a “High Pass” filter in Photoshop to finalize my images. That’s how I was taught. But this alternative seems much more interesting because you can directly control what you choose to sharpen through a mask.

I did some searching and found this great tutorial that is easier to understand than Kristina Sherk’s explanation on Photoshelter’s blog. The only difference between how I used selective sharpen and the following tutorial was that I used the “High Pass” filter instead of “unsharp mask” filter.

OPHRYS PHOTOGRAPHY PHOTOSHOP TUTORIAL – ADVANCED SHARPENING TECHNIQUES

Before selective sharpening

After selective sharpening

Thanks to all who post tutorials to improve and help us all understand technology better!

