Where I’ve been (And hopefully going)

Well, I haven’t posted in quite a while. When things get hectic my blog tends to suffer the most. You see, I just graduated. Finals were difficult this year and now I need a job.

I’m struggling finding a job in the market now. I am a journalist: my hopes and dreams all rolled into a single word. Technically I would love to be a photojournalist, but the road is rocky and I need to have as many skills as possible to compete for jobs, which were once specifically either reporter or photographer, and are now reporter/photographer/videographer/social media aficionado. It didn’t help that journalist was rated as the 5th worst job in America this year. I also have another hurdle to overcome, I’m not a journalism major.

I am, proudly, a religious studies major. No, this does not mean that I strive to be a preacher, or even that I am religious. Ironically, that was the first thing out of my mother’s lips when I told her I was switching majors. “Are you a going to be a preacher?” is usually the first thing I hear when discussing my major with someone. What people don’t understand is the level of critical analysis and cross studies that are required in the field of religious studies.

Here, let me give you an example: My capstone course discussed global economics, I’ve had sociology courses, theory classes around major humanities contributors such as Emilie Durkheim and Max Mueller, I’ve had classes focused on art and literature, I’ve had classes focused on civil liberties and politics. The thing about religious studies is that it influences and is influenced by every single field of study out there. It is not classes only about math or policy or geography or history, it is a study that encompasses all of those along with pulling out and analyzing each and everyone of those contributors and how they are entangled with religion. Also, I have taken classes in journalism and interned with magazines and worked on the college paper. Let me tell you, if you can’t communicate or write well, there is no chance in hell you can get through a 15-page critical analytical paper about global economics.

Yes, I could have been a history major or a journalism major, but I chose religious studies because I was shown so much more of the world. Religion is probably the most important factor in decision making, whether or not a person identifies themselves as religious. People are influenced everyday by religion in some form or another, whether it is the war or political debates or even what is sold at WalMart. They just don’t know it.

Show me the jobs people. I’ll show you what religious studies can do

